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SUBJECT: Exempt Regulation Section - 22VAC40-120 (Minimum Standards for
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I am in receipt of the attached regulation. You have asked the Office of the Attorney
General to review and determine if the State Board of the Virginia Department of Social Services
has the statutory authority to promulgate the proposed regulation and if the proposed regulation
comports with applicable state and federal law.

This regulatory action serves to bring the minimum standards for licensed family day-
care systems into conformity with § 63.2-1701 of the Code of Virginia, to comply with Chapter
196 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly (HB 2156, effective July 1, 2107). The legislation amends the
definition of person who operates or maintains a child welfare agency. The definition of person
was amended to allow state operated child welfare agencies to be licensed.

It is my opinion that the State Board of DSS has the authority to promulgate this
regulation, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the Administrative Process
Act (“APA”) and has not exceeded that authority.

Further, it is my view that this regulation is exempt from the procedures of Article 2 of
the APA pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-4006(A)(4)(a). If you have any questions or need
additional information about these regulations, please contact me at 786-4856.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esquire
Attachment



Project 5149 - Final

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Amend Licensed Family Day Systems to Conform with Code

22VAC40-120-10. Definitions; license provisions.

A. Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia sets forth the
responsibility of the Department of Social Services for licensure of family day-care systems,
including the authority and responsibility of the State Board of Social Services for the

development of regulations containing minimum standards and requirements.

It is a misdemeanor to operate a family day-care system without a license. (§ 63.2-1712 of
the Code of Virginia)
B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Abused or neglected child" (see § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) means any child

younger than 18 years of age whose parents or other persons responsible for his or her care:

a. Create or inflict, threaten to create or inflict, or allow to be created or inflicted a
physical or mental injury by other than accidental means, or create a substantial risk of

death, disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions;

b. Neglect or refuse to provide care necessary for the child's health, unless the child is,
in good faith, under treatment solely by spiritual means through prayer, according to the

practice of a recognized church or denomination;

c. Abandon the child;

d. Commit or allow to be committed any sexual act upon a child in violation of the law.



"Child" means any person younger than 18 years of age.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social Services also known as the Director of
the Virginia Department of Social Services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia)

"Complaint” means an accusation received either orally or in writing that:

a. A licensed family day-care system is not in compliance with one or more of these
standards or one or more statutory requirements; or

b. A family day-care system home is not in compliance with one or more applicable
requirements of these standards or one or more requirements as established by the
family day-care system; or

c. A child or children in the care of a family day-care home, which is a member of a
licensed family day-care system is or are being abused or neglected.

"Day-care" means care, protection, and guidance provided to a child or group of children
separated from their parents or guardian for less than 24 hours per day at a location other than
the home of the parents or guardian.

"Day-care provider" means an individual who, by contract with a family day-care system,
provides day-care in his home.

"Department” means the Virginia Department of Social Services.

"Department representative" means an employee of the department, acting as the

authorized agent of the commissioner in carrying out the responsibilities and duties specified in

Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.

"Director” means the licensee or a person designated by the licensee who oversees the day-

to-day operation of the system, including compliance with all minimum standards for licensed

family day-care systems.



"Family day-care system" means any person who approves family day-care homes as
members of its system; who refers children to available day-care homes in that system; and
who through contractual arrangement may provide central administrative functions, including,
but not limited to, training of operators of family day-care homes; technical assistance and
consultation to operators of family day-care homes; inspection, supervision, monitoring, and
evaluation of family day-care homes; and referral of children to available health and social

services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia)

"Family day-care system home" means any private family home, which is an approved
member of a family day-care system and receives nine or fewer children for care, protection,
and guidance during any part of the 24-hour day except children who are related by blood or
marriage to the person who maintains the home. Family day-care homes that are members of a
licensed day-care system and are approved by that system to care for five or more children are

not subject to direct licensure by the department. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia)

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, or corporation to whom the license

is issued.

corporation: partnership; association; limited liability company; local government; state agency,

including any department, institution, authority, instrumentality, board, or other administrative

agency of the Commonwealth; or other legal or commercial entity that operates or maintains a

child welfare agency.

"Referral” means any activity by the family day-care system that provides assistance in
locating or arranging day-care for children in homes that have been accepted or approved as

members of the system, or in locating or arranging for health or social services from other

sources based upon identified needs.



"Sponsor” means an individual, association, partnership, or corporation having the
responsibility for planning and operating a family day-care system subject to licensure. The
licensee is the sponsor of a family day-care system. (The sponsor may not, in all cases, be the
owner of the physical plant including buildings or real estate, or both, in or on which the family
day-care system office is located. In these instances the term "sponsor” as defined here and
used in this chapter is considered to be the person, partnership, association, or corporation that

owns the enterprise rather than the physical plant or real estate, or both.)

C. The license.

1. A license to operate a family day-care system is issued to a specific person,

partnership, association, or corporation for an exact location, which will be indicated on
the license.

2. The family day-care system shall be operated and conducted in the name of the

sponsor or in such name as shall be designated on the application and as indicated on
the license.

3. The license expires automatically and is not transferable when there is a change of
sponsorship.

4. The current license shall be posted at all times at a place that is conspicuous to the
public in the building housing the system office. If the system has more than one office,

copies of the current license shall be posted in a place that is conspicuous to the public
in each office.

5. An annual license is one issued to a family day-care system when the activities,
services, and facilities meet substantially the minimum standards and requirements for a

license that are set forth in this chapter and any additional requirements that may be



specified in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. The

annual license is effective for 12 months unless it is sooner revoked or surrendered.

6. When an annual license expires, a provisional license may be issued for any period
not to exceed six months if the applicant is temporarily unable to comply with all of the
requirements; however, no facility may operate under any such provisional license and

renewals of that license for a longer period than six successive months.

7. At the discretion of the commissioner, a conditional license may be issued to operate
a new facility in order to permit the applicant to demonstrate compliance with all
requirements. A conditional license and any renewal of that shall be for no longer a

period than six successive months.
8. Terms of the license.
a. The terms of any license issued include:
(1) The operating name of the family day-care system;

(2) The name of the individual, the partnership, the association, or the corporation to

whom the license is issued,

(3) The physical location;

(4) The number of homes that may be under contract to the system;
(5) The period of time for which the license is effective; and

(6) The total number of children who may be referred by the system and be receiving

care at any given time in all homes that are members of the system.

b. The terms of the license may include other limitations that the commissioner may

prescribe within the context of this chapter.



c. The provisional license cites the standards with which the licensee is not in

compliance.

D. The licensing process.

1. Pre-application consultation. Upon request, the department's representative will
provide consultation to any person seeking information about obtaining a license for a

family day-care system. The purpose of such consultation is:

a. To explain standards;

b. To help the potential applicant to explore the operational demands of a licensed
family day-care systém;

¢. To provide assistance in locating sources of information and technical assistance;
d. To alert thé potential applicant of the need to determine whether local ordinances
will affect the proposed operation (e.g. zoning, business license, etc.);

e. To provide an on-site visit to a proposed family day-care system office, upon

request.

2. The application.
a. The application for a license to operate a family day-care system shall be obtained
from the department.
b. The application, together with all required information, shall be submitted to the

department at least two months in advance of the planned opening date.

This is required in order that a determination of compliance with the provisions of
Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia and with the

Standards for Licensed Family Day-Care Systems as set forth in this chapter may be

made.



Among other things, the information submitted shall be sufficient to enable the
department's representative to determine, during the subsequent investigation, the
specific services to be offered, the adequacy of staff to provide these services, the
financial capability of the applicant, the character and reputation of the applicant,
including the officers and agents of any association, partnership, or corporation as

mandated by § 63.2-1702 of the Code of Virginia.

c. The application shall be signed by the individual responsible for the operation of
the family day-care system. The application for a family day-care system to be
operated by a board shall be signed by an officer of the board, preferably the

chairman.

3. The investigation.

a. Following receipt of the application, the department's representative will make an
on-site inspection of the proposed office and an investigation of the proposed
services, as well as an investigation of the character and reputation of the applicant,
and, upon receipt of the initial application, an investigation of the applicant's financial

responsibility.

b. Applicants for licensure and licensees shall at all times afford the commissioner
reasonable opportunity to inspect all of their facilities, books, and records, and to
interview their agents and employees and any person living or participating in such
facilities, or under their custody, control, direction, or supervision. (§ 63.2-1706 of the
Code of Virginia) The financial records of an initial applicant shall not be subject to

inspection if the applicant submits an operating budget and at least one credit

reference.



4. Notice to the applicant of commissioner's action. Upon completion of the investigation

of the application for a license, the applicant will be notified in writing of the
commissioner's decision.

If the license is issued, an accompanying letter will cite any areas of noncompliance with
standards. This letter will also include any limitations on the license and may contain
recommendations.

If a license is to be denied, the letter will state the reasons for the intent to deny and will
set forth the applicant's right to an administrative hearing.

5. Procedures for renewal of annual, provisional, or conditional license. In order to renew
an annual, provisional, or conditional license, the licensee must complete the renewal
application and return it, together with any required attachments, to the department. In
order to assure timely processing, the renewal application should be completed and

returned within 10 days after it is received from the department.

The procedure for investigation and issuance or denial of the license as set forth in
subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection will be followed.
6. Early compliance (replacement of a provisional or conditional license with an annual
license).
a. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and an annual license issued
when all of the following conditions exist:
(1) The facility complies with all standards listed on the face of the provisional or

conditional license well in advance of the expiration date of the provisional or

conditional license, and no additional areas of noncompliance exist:

(2) Compliance has been verified by an on-site observation by the department

representative or by written evidence provided by the licensee: and



(3) Ali other terms of the license remain the same.

b. A request to void a provisional or conditional license and to issue an annual
license must be made in writing by the licensee to the regional office of the

department from which the family day-care system's license to operate was issued.

c. If the request is approved by the department, the effective date of the new annual

license will be the same as the beginning date of the provisional or conditional

license.

7. Situation requiring a new application. A new application must be filed when

sponsorship of the family day-care system changes.

8. Modification.

a. The conditions of the license may be modified during the effective dates of the
license with respect to increasing or decreasing the number of homes that may be
placed under contract, the number of children who may be referred by the system
and be receiving care at a given time, changing the name of the system when there
is no change in sponsorship, changing location of the system office, or other

conditions caused by changes in staff, program, or facilities.

b. The licensee shall report to the department any contemplated changes in
operation that would affect either the terms of the license or the continuing eligibility
for a license. (This does not mean the department has to approve changes in staff or

program unless they affect the terms of the license or continuing eligibility.)

c¢. This information shall be submitted in writing by the licensee to the regional office

of the department from which the system's license to operate was issued.

d. The department will then determine whether such changes may be approved and

the license modified accordingly or whether a new application must be filed.



9. Determination of continued compliance. In order to determine continued compliance
with standards during the effective dates of the license, the department's representative

will make announced and unannounced visits to the office or offices of the system and

may make such visits to homes that are members of the system.

10. Complaint investigation.

a. The department has the responsibility to investigate any complaints regarding
alleged violations of minimum standards for licensed family day-care systems and

provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.

b. The licensee has the responsibility to investigate any complaints regarding any
family day-care home that is approved as a member of its system. (See 22VAC40-
120-50 C.) At its discretion the department may also investigate complaints against
individual homes.
11. Revocation. Any license may be revoked for failure to maintain these standards or
for violation of the provisions of Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the
Code of Virginia.
12. Appeals. The applicant or licensee has the right to request an administrative hearing
regarding any denial or revocation of a license, in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).
Following the receipt of the final order that transmits the department's decision after the
administrative hearing, the applicant/licensee has the right to appeal to a court of record

in accordance with § 63.2-1710 of the Code of Virginia.
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